top of page

Font Pairing Project


Font Pairing Project: Joshua Polansky

Date: 11/2/17

What does it mean to create a font pairing?

Creating a font pairing means using different fonts to communicate a certain message, saying, etc.

What are the four assignments you chose to do? Write the name of the assignment and describe your design for each.

1. " Winter is Coming”: I used a font that I filled certain parts of it with white to represent snow on the letters (for “Winter is”). I used a sharp font for “Coming” to show the urgency in which winter is coming.

2. Destination: I chose the Santa Monica Pier in California. I used a script font that represents the flow of the shore, as well as the people, at the pier.

3. Galaxy: My quote was “There wouldn’t be a sky full of stars if we were all meant to wish on the same one.” I made “sky full of stars” and “wish” a different font and color to show its emphasis. I also made “all” and “same one” the same font as everything else, but bigger to show its emphasis as well.

4. Famous Quote: My quote was “All you need is the plan, the road map, and the courage to press on to your destination.” I made everything after the word “plan” into a list because they all start with “the”. I made “All you need is” and “destination” different colors to make them truly stand out against the other words of the quote.

Which assignment would you say is your BEST font pairing and why?

“Winter is Coming” is my best font pairing because I picked a good background image, my font pairing (fancy and simple) works well together, and I created “white snowcaps” to truly communicate the feeling of winter.

Which assignment would you say is your Least Successful font pairing and why?

Famous Quote us my least successful font pairing because it was a rushed font pairing made towards the end of the project, and I didn’t have time to pick out an amazing quote or font pairing.

How would you describe the font pairing process? What makes a font pairing so difficult?

The font pairing process is difficult when you first start out, but satisfying when you are able to pair fonts effectively. Font pairing is so difficult because there are endless possibilities of combinations that could be made, and picking the two exact fonts you want out of so many other choices can be tough.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page