top of page

Starbucks Cup Design


Holiday Cup Design: Joshua Polansky

Date: 1/15/17

1. How do you believe your design relates to the corporate Identity of your company?

I believe that my cup relates to the corporate identity of Starbucks for a few reasons. First, I used the same Starbucks logo as the regular cup; I just changed the colors around. Second, the "Starbucks" font I used is similar to the bold font of the regular "Starbucks" font on the cup. Third, although the golden points (really a 100-pointed star) behind the logo represents the light coming off of the New Year's Ball, it also represents how Starbucks is the "shining star" of coffee, and also of society, as it is a place where people can meet up to mingle, do their work, or just get a simple cup of coffee.

2. How does your cup portray the “holiday”?

My cup portrays the holiday by recreating the New Year's Ball (most famously seen in Times Square in New York City) using the Starbucks logo as the ball, having "shining light" come off of it to represent its luminous effect in real life, and creating the pole that the ball moves down. Around the ball and pole, I put "3,2,1" in a celebratory, confetti-like font to count down the seconds until the New Year starts.

3. Do you think that the company you designed for would really use your cup? Why or why not?

I do not think that the company would use the cup I designed only because Starbuck's holiday cups don't highlight one specific "holiday" as what I did; they use the concepts/ideas of the holidays to create their cup.

4. What makes your Cup Unique and Different?

My cup is unique and different because while most other people in the class focused on holidays such as Christmas and Chanukah that only a specific group of people celebrate, I created a cup around the New Year celebration, a "holiday" in which all people all around the world celebrate.

5. Describe the process in which you took to create the cup? (From beginning to end)

At first, I drew up three different cup ideas on paper; one with stripes around the cup, one with presents all around, and one New Year's themed up. After I chose the New Year's themed cup, I had to change the colors of the logo, find a New Year's ball-like shape so the logo looked as such, create the light going off of the logo, create the pole, and find a font that gave off the feeling of celebrating so I can use it for the countdown. Then, I created the pole. I changed my original plan a little bit, adding and getting rid of stuff I liked or didn't like. After that, I replicated the design on the other side of the cup, and I mimcked a regular Starbucks cup by adding the "Starbucks" down the cup and then adding the different checkboxes for the options of a coffee. Lastly, I printed out my design, I cut it out, taped it onto a cup, took pictures, edited them on Photoshop, and here I am.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page